Contemporary I with Nailah Randall-Bellinger at Theater, Dance & Media

Friday, February 1, 2019 6:00pm 7:30pm
Friday, February 8, 2019 6:00pm 7:30pm
Friday, February 15, 2019 6:00pm 7:30pm
Friday, February 22, 2019 6:00pm 7:30pm
Friday, March 1, 2019 6:00pm 7:30pm
Friday, March 8, 2019 6:00pm 7:30pm
Friday, March 15, 2019 6:00pm 7:30pm
Friday, March 29, 2019 6:00pm 7:30pm
Friday, April 5, 2019 6:00pm 7:30pm
Friday, April 12, 2019 6:00pm 7:30pm

Contemporary I

Contemporary I taught by Nailah Randall-Bellinger
This course introduces the fundamentals of classical Modern dance technique and shows its evolution into what is now called Contemporary dance. Students are introduced to the basic vocabulary of Graham, Horton, and Limón techniques, including such terms as the c-curve, undulation, lateral arch, fall, and rebound, spiraling, release swing, and contract and release. The use of the torso and working in a way that is “grounded” is emphasized as defining modern dance movement qualities. In addition to building a strong vocabulary of classical modern dance, as it applies to contemporary dance, the students will explore each style through a series of movement studies designed to develop one’s muscle memory and movement fluidity.



Additional Information

 

Attire: Dance/workout wear — something comfortable to move in, and bare feet or socks.

Location: Studio 1 is located on the main floor of the Harvard Dance Center. Dressing rooms and lockers are located downstairs; please bring your own lock if you wish to use them.

Transportation Tip: The Quad-Yard Express (free shuttle bus) runs from Harvard Yard/Square to the Quad (across the street from the Dance Center) every 20-25 minutes in the evenings. 

NoteClasses will not meet during Spring Break, March 18-24.

 

 

Phone:
617-496-2796
Cost:
$40.00-$100.00
Location:
Theatre, Dance & Media at Harvard
Studio 1
66 Garden St
Cambridge, MA 02138