The 34th Annual MayFair in Harvard Square Sunday, May 7th

Sunday, May 7, 2017 12:00pm - 6:00pm

The 34th Annual MayFair in Harvard Square
Sunday, May 7th, 2017 from Noon until 6pm
The Streets of Harvard Square

The Harvard Square Business Association is excited to announce the 34th Annual MayFair in Harvard Square happening on Sunday, May 7th, 2017 from noon -6pm. This annual spring time tradition features three stages of music, over 35 dance troupes, food, crafts, a chalk art gallery and entertainment for all ages. Other highlights include Roaming Railroad train rides for the young and the young at heart, four beer gardens sponsored by Alden & Harlow, Beat BrasserieGrafton Street Pub & Grill, John Harvard’s Brew House, and The Sinclair, a Victorian children’s activity area, and over one hundred thousand happy people! In addition, MayFair features over 60 artisans and merchants selling arts and crafts and jewelry and boasts over 50 food vendors serving up international fare and local favorites.

    

 

Don’t forget to check out the annual Chalk on the Walk located on Church Street! Each year, the Cambridge Rotary Club’s Chalk on the Walk raises thousands of dollars for local charities. The art of chalk street painting has a history stretching back as far as the Italian Renaissance. Corporate and individual patrons sponsor painting squares and artists donate their creativity and talents. Prizes are awarded to the artists and proceeds from the event go to local Cambridge charities and scholarships.

    

 

MAYFAIR ENTERTAINMENT SCHEDULE

Main Stage – at the Super Crosswalk (Produced by the Sinclair)
12pm – Nemes – nemes.bandcamp.com
1pm – Colbis The Creature – colbisthecreature.bandcamp.com
2pm – Elephants – those-elephant.bandcamp.com
3pm – Aisha Burns – aishaburns.com
4pm – Kyle Bent – kylebentmusic.com
5pm – Jesse Dee – jessedee.com

Passim Stage – at the intersection of Brattle and Church Streets (produced by Matt Smith)
12pm – Jim Trick – jimtrick.com
1pm – Noble Dust – nobledustmusic.com
2pm – Gretchen & The Pickpockets – gretchenandthepickpockets.com
3pm – Lloyd Thayer – lloydthayer.com
4pm – Tom Burris – tomburrismusic.com
5pm – Lisa Bastoni – lisabastoni.com

Dance Stage – on Mt. Auburn Street (Produced by Deborah Mason)
12:15-12:30 – Cambridge Youth Dance Program – cydp.org
12:30-12:37 – Jose Mateo YouthWorks – ballettheatre.org
12:37-12:45 – Brookline Academy of Dance: Performance Ensemble – brooklineacademy.com
12:45-12:52 – Stoneworks Dance Company, Stonehill College – stonehill.edu/academics/areas-of-study/vpa/dance
12:52-1:00 – Bedford Dance Center Repertory Ensemble – bedforddancecenter.com/about/reperatory-ensemble
1:00-1:10 – Bean Town Lockers – bostonmobiledance.com
1:10-1:20 – Danza Organica – danzaorganica.org
1:20-1:30 – Yosi Karahashi Flamenco – flamencoyosi.com
1:30-1:40 – Pantos Project – katpantos.com
1:40-1:50 – Subject: Matter – subjectmattertap.com
1:50-2:00 – Ruckus Dance – ruckusdance.wordpress.com
2:00-2:10 – BoSoma Dance Company – bosoma.org
2:10-2:25 – Cambridge Youth Dance Program– cydp.org
2:25-2:30 – Jeryl Pilapil
2:30-2:35 – Ellen Oliver – ellenoliverdance.com
2:35-2:40 – Connections Dance – linkedin.com/in/JEProductions
2:40-2:50 – Mystique Illusions Dance Theatre – mystiquellusionsdancetheatre.org
2:50-3:00 – Os Forrozeiros Dance Group – forrodeboston.com
3:00-3:10 – Rainbow Tribe – rainbowtribe.org
3:10-3:15 – Franklin School of Performing Arts – fspaonline.com
3:15-3:20 – Margaret Wiss – margaretwiss.com
3:20-3:25 – MIT Dance Society
3:25-3:35 – Evolve Dynamicz – evolvedynamicz.com
3:35-3:40 – Tony Williams Ballet Company Youth Company – tonywilliamsdancecenter.com
3:40-3:45 – Dance’n Feet
3:45-3:50 – Lisie Michel – Instagram.com/lisierae
3:50-4:00 – Nozama Dance Collective – nozamadancecollective.wordpress.com
4:00-4:10 – Chhandika
4:10-4:15 – Studio10Tap – studio10tap.com
4:15-4:30 – Boston Tap Company – thebostontapcompany.com
4:30-4:40 – Triveni Dance – trivenidance.org
4:40-4:45 – Erica Nelson and Dancers
4:45-4:50 – Kelley Donovan – kddcompany.wordpress.com
4:55-5:00 – Boston Swing Central & Friends – bostonswingcentral.org
5:00-5:10 – Cambridge Dance Company – cambridgedancecompany.org
5:15-5:22 – Legacy Dance Company – thedanceinn.com
5:23-5:30 – OFF BEAT – ryanpcasey.com

 

Mt. Auburn/JFK Street Stage
Just outside Winthrop Park and next to The John Harvard’s Brew House beer garden, Dread Rocks will be performing 1:30pm-4:30pm. (dreadrocksreggae.com) True to the spirit of roots reggae music, Dread Rocks, with their fresh brand of Reggae, move and groove the afternoon away.

   

Cambridge Historical Tours will provide activities and fun for kids of all ages in the Victorian Children's Garden (aka Winthrop Park). Costumed hosts will play along with you on croquet courts, cornhole, sidewalk chalk, finger paints, stump-the-historian booth for adults to play, flower crowns, our Story Corner, and our favorite: the dress up booth! Try on hats from several centuries or get a sweet reward for winning a game against our staff, as guides knock off from doing tours for the day to spend it with the Harvard Square community.

New this year!
Every hour on the hour from 12:00pm-4:00pm at our Story Corner: Ten Minute Tales of History from Cambridge

12:00pm The story of George Washington in Cambridge

1:00pm The story of Harvard dropout Robert Gould Shaw

2:00pm The story of the John Hicks House and Israel Putnam

3:00pm The story of Henry Wadsworth Longfellow, his amazing poems, and tragic loss

4:00pm The story of John Webster, the Harvard professor who murdered George Parkman (1849)

 

Mayfair "After Party" at Grendel's Den
Don't stop the music! Join us for food, drinks and live music from 3 pm - 8 pm Sunday May 7th featuring Scott & Kameelah (Ray Charles? Foo Fighters? In the same show? Yes!) plus acoustic covers and originals by Grendel's bartenders Quentin & Josh.
All food is Half-Price with $3 min. beverage purchase inside from 5- 7:30 pm.
No cover, but donations to artists accepted.

The Harvard Square Business Association thanks the 2017 MayFair Sponsors for their participation:

Alden & Harlow, ALT 92.9, Anhueser Busch, Asmodee North America, barkTHINS, Boston Beer. Camp Cody, Capital One Café, Dunkin Donuts, Eastern Bank, Eversource, Fidelity, GEICO, German International School, Grafton Street Pub & Grill, Harding House, Hills Home Market, Irving House, John Harvard’s Brew House, Krave Jerky, Launch Watertown Trampoline Park, Minute Rice, Newpro, Passim, Pun Pantry, Renewal by Andersen, Superpedestrian, Techniart, The Sinclair, Turkey Hill, Velofix Boston, Webster Bank and x2 Performance.

 

For more information about MayFair and other events in Harvard Square, please visit harvardsquare.com.

 

Phone:
(617) 491-3434
Cost:
Free and open to the public