News Results << back to all News

    The 23rd Annual MayFair a HUGE Success!

    MayFair- May 7th, 2006 noon-6pm

    MayFair features six main performance areas, with niches of art attacks, dance distractions, and curious clowning. 200 artisans and merchants fill colorful tents with handmade, vintage, recycled, costume, antique, and sidewalk sale items – a spring shopping delight!. MayFair is the ultimate taste of event offering international cuisine, festival favorites, and food sampling galore.

    Entertainment schedule:

    Main Stage: (By Out of Town News).
    12:00 pm The Soul Band http://www.thesoulband.net/
    1:00 Ad Frank http://www.adfrank.com/live.htm
    2:00 3 Kings http://www.3kingsmusic.com/
    3:00 - 3:30 The Eilen Jewel Band http://www.eilenjewellband.com/
    3:45 4:45 Clem Snide (Solo Acoustic) http://www.clemsnide.com/
    5:00 - 6:00 The French Kicks http://www.frenchkicks.com/

    Holyoke Center presents Band Fest in conjunction with Harvard Square's May Fair! Rock, pop, blues, jazz, and more are represented by Harvard bands - Forbes Plaza
    12:00 pm Joshua Colin; original pop
    12:30 pm Maya: rock/jazz/ Indian fusion
    1:00 pm The Motives: original rock
    1:30 pm Derrick Wang: original rock piano
    2:00 pm Kamchatka: experimental jazz
    2:30 pm Harvard Jazz Collective: music by Wayne Shorter
    3:00 Major Major: blues/ Latin/alt-pop
    3:30 pm Liz Carlisle Group; country
    4 pm Russell Wolff Band: alt-pop
    4:30 pm Harvard Sangeet: Indian-Muslim devotional music
    5:00 pm The Dharma Seals: rock
    5:30 pm Free Fall: pop/rock

    NEMO Music Festival: New Music Spotlight
    NEMO Music Festival: New Music Spotlight
    NEMO Music Festival Stage- New Music Spotlight - Stage in Eliot Triangle:

    Noon; Mile 23 (Winner of the WBCN Battle of the High School Bands)http://www.myspace.com/mile23
    1:00 John Burlock http://www.myspace.com/JohnBurlock
    2:00 Cat & Mouse http://www.myspace.com/thomasdixon
    3:00 Sand Machine http://www.myspace.com/sandmachine
    4:00 Blanks http://www.myspace.com/blanks
    5:00 The Chainletter http://www.myspace.com/thechainletter


    CLUB PASSIM Stage celebrating 48 years as a Folk Legend in Harvard Square! (Church Street)
    12 - 12:45 Janet Feld www.janetfeld.com
    1 - 1:45 Jabe Beyer (tent) www.jabe.net
    2 - 2:45 Jason Myles Goss www.jasonmylesgoss.com
    3 - 3:45 Chris O'Brien (tent) www.chris-obrien.net
    4 - 4:45 Matt & Shannon Heaton www.eatsrecords.com/
    5 - 6:00 Antje Duvekot www.antjeduvekot.com


    DARING STREET PERFORMANCES (Mass Ave and Brattle Street)

    OTHER HIGHLIGHTS:
    DARE TO BE BARE Charity Buzz-a Thon: Join in the fun as volunteers shave their heads or cut off ten inches! Diego Salon donates money and hair to Locks of Love providing wigs for children with Cancer and the Alice Hoffman Center at Mt. Auburn Hospital. (Near Main Stage!)

    CHALK ON THE WALK the Harvard Square version of an Italian Street Painting Festival sponsored by the Cambridge Rotary Club to benefit Cambridge Rotary Charities www.cambridgerotary.org/Chalk on the Walk.

    Church Street will be marked off in squares. 4x6 to 10x12, free chalk provided to artists. Each square is sponsored by businesses or individuals to encourage the arts. Artists should register in advance to assure a space by calling: 617.621.4056 or sign up at www:cambridgerotary.org (Church Street).

    KIDS FESTIVAL on Church Street with kid-sized activities, performances, rides, face painting, food, free samples, and dancing in the streets.

    Bring Your Own Voice www.aevidence.com

    Sponsored by: Sponsored by: Dunkin Donuts, Jet Blue, Nantucket Nectars, Trader Joe's, Grafton Street, Samuel Adams, Cabot Creamery, Boston Event Specialists, Legal Sea Food, Newbury Comics, Zipcar, Junior League of Boston Decorators Show house, Club Passim, NEMO, The Phoenix, WZLX, WBZ, WBCN, Mix 98.5, Oldies 103.3, WFNX, Country 99.5, Panorama and the Harvard Square Business Association.

    MayFair is free and open to the public