articles harvard square

Make Music Harvard Square / Fête de la Musique

 


 

 

 

 

Come celebrate the Summer Solstice in Harvard Square with a French twist!  Enjoy Rock and Roll, Funk and Folk, throw in some Jazz, Country, Hip Hop, a few Standards, add some Classical, Pop, R&B, Soul, Alternative, and Goth,  mix in a little Blue Grass, World, and Grunge, then get down and dance!  

 

 

 

 

The Harvard Square Business Association  is gearing up to celebrate the summer solstice with the 6th Annual Make Music Harvard Square / Fête de la Musique.  On June 22nd, the streets of Harvard Square become a free, live music festival featuring more than 110 musicians from across the USA and Canada playing on 14 different stages.  Festivities kick off at 2pm and come to a close at 10pm.


 

 

Make Music Harvard Square is inspired by the “Fête de la Musique” a street-music festival which was started 29 years ago in Paris. The “Fête de la Musique” is now celebrated, under many names, in more than 300 cities in 108 countries, from London to Beijing to Buenos Aires. Harvard Square is proud to join in this worldwide celebration!


 

A complete schedule of local, regional and national talent follows. Highlights of the day will include a signature main stage in beautiful and historic Winthrop Park.

 


 

Winthrop Park Stage - Located in the historic Winthrop Park at the corner of Mt. Auburn and JFK Street

 

2:00 pm - Sylvanna Joyce + The Moment   www.sjandthemoment.com

 

3:00 pm - Cambridge Symphony Orchestra   cambridgesymphony.org/

 

4:00 pm - Nik Lone   www.niklone.com.au/

 

5:00 pm - Plumerai   plumerai.com/blog/wordpress/

6:00 pm - Blue Kid   www.bluekidmusic.com

 

7:00 pm - Sasha Papernik   www.sashatheband.com

 

8:00 pm - Louie Bello   www.louiebello.com

9:00 pm - Here We Just Dream   herewejustdream.bandcamp.com/
                                                                       
                                                                                                denise-(1).jpg 
                                                                                                                       Here We Just Dream        


 

 

Brattle Plaza Stage - located in front of Hidden Sweets, 25 Brattle Street

 

2:00 pm - The Life Electric   www.TheLifeElectricmusic.com

 

3:00 pm - The Rationales   www.therationales.com

 

4:00 pm - The Interrobang   www.theinterrobangband.com

 

5:00 pm - Parlour Bells   parlourbells.com/

 

6:00 pm - Ryan Jackson Troika   www.ryanjacksonmusic.com

 

7:00 pm - Cask Mouse   caskmouse.com/

 

8:00 pm - OldJack   www.oldjackmusic.com

9:00 pm - The Field Effect   www.thefieldeffectmusic.com
                                                                
                                                                                    DSC_4457.jpg
                                                                                                                        The Interrobang

 



The Body Shop Stage - located at 1440 Mass Ave.


2:00 pm - Stefilia's Stone   www.StefiliasStone.com

 

3:00 pm - Mei O'Hara   www.meiohara.com/

 

4:00 pm - The Inebriations   theinebriations.com

 

5:00 pm - The Cranks   www.thecranks.com

 

6:00 pm - Dirty Blind  www.dirtyblindmusic.com

 

7:00 pm - Seth Wonkka   www.sethwonkka.com

 

8:00 pm - Jacqui Brown   www.reverbnation.com/jacquibrownmusic

9:00 pm -TJ George   www.tjgeorge.com/
                                                                                  
                                                                                       DSC_4650.jpg
                                                                                                                                Billy Wine

 

 

 

 

Harvard Book Store Stage- in front of the Harvard Book Store, 1256 Mass. Ave

 

2:00 pm - Stephen Lee Rich   www.stephenleerich.com

 

3:00 pm - Rich Eilbert   www.richeilbert.com

 

4:00 pm - Casey Buckley   www.caseybuckley.com

5:00pm - Erik Howell

 

6:00 pm - Hayley Reardon   www.hayleyreardon.com/

 

7:00 pm - Films About Ghosts   filmsaboutghosts.net

 

8:00 pm - Molly & Rosana   www.mollyandrosana.com

9:00 pm - Steve Leak   www.steveleak.com/ 

                                                                                                                                                                                                                                       make-music-2-(2).jpg




Charlie's Kitchen Stage - In front of Charlie's Kitchen, 10 Eliot Street


2:00 pm - Katie Frassinelli   www.katiefrassinelli.com

3:00 pm - Patrick Mulroy  

 

4:00 pm - Steven Payne  

 

5:00 pm - Jacqui Brown   www.reverbnation.com/jacquibrownmusic

 

6:00 pm - Casey Buckley   www.caseybuckley.com


8:00 pm - Leap The Dips   www.leap-the-dips.com

 

9:00 pm - Trapped in Static   www.trappedinstatic.com

 

 



The Harvard COOP Stage - in front of The Harvard COOP, 1400 Mass. Ave

 

2:00 pm - Hadley Kennary   hadleykennary.com

 

3:00 pm - Kurt Winnika   kurt.winikka.com

 

4:00 pm - DK & The Joy Machine  www.facebook.com/dkANDtheJoyMachine

 

5:00 pm - Cosette Gobat   www.cosettegobat.com

 

6:00 pm - Mel Hart  

 

7:00 pm - Kenneth March   www.kennethmarch.com

 

8:00 pm - Randy Vera   www.reverbnation.com/randyvera

 

9:00 pm - Steve Katz   www.stevekatzmusic.com

                                                                                                        
                                                                                                                   DSC_4692.jpg

 

 

 
 

Dado Tea Stage - in front of Dado Tea, 50 Church Street

 

2:00 pm - Marcie Joy   www.kidsmusicbymarcie.wordpress.com

 

3:00 pm - Kim Jennings   www.kimjenningsmusic.com

 

4:00 pm - John Ferullo   www.johnferullo.com

 

5:00 pm - Trapdoor Social   www.trapdoorsocial.com/

 

6:00 pm - Nikhil Thakkar   www.nikhilthakkar.wordpress.com

 

7:00 pm - Marie Chabot   www.mariechabot.org


9:00 pm - Cometa
   www.cometamusic.com

 



Dunkin Donuts/ Eliot Street Cafe Stage - 65 JFK Street

 

2:00 pm - DK & The Joy Machine   www.facebook.com/dkANDtheJoyMachine

 

3:00 pm - Katie Frassinelli   www.katiefrassinelli.com

4:00 pm - Anthony Zannino 

5:00 pm - Steven Payne  

7:00 pm - Max Garcia Conover   maxgarciaconover.com

 

 

 
Grafton Street Stage - sidewalk in front of Grafton Street - 1230 Mass. Ave

 

2:00 pm - Exile Sessions   www.reverbnation.com/exilesessions

 

3:00 pm - Frank Viele   www.FrankVieleMusic.com

 

4:00 pm - Andrew O'Keefe   https://soundcloud.com/ao_music/sets/set1

 

5:00 pm - Christina Holmes   www.youtube.com/christinaholmesmusic

 

6:00 pm - Brendan Asquith   www.basongs.com/

 

7:00 pm - Cosette Gobat   www.cosettegobat.com

 

8:00 pm - Max Garcia Conover   maxgarciaconover.com

9:00 pm - The Jacob Paulson Duo
                                                                                                                                                                                
                                                                                          
                                                                                                                DSC_4662.jpg


 



Finale Patio stage - 30 Dunster Street

 

2:00 pm - Frank Viele   www.FrankVieleMusic.com

3:00 pm - The Jacob Paulson Duo  

4:00 pm - Hadley Kennary   hadleykennary.com

5:00 pm - Films About Ghosts   filmsaboutghosts.net

6:00 pm - Kurt Winnika   kurt.winikka.com

7:00 pm - Amy Kucharik   www.amykucharik.com/

8:00 pm - Hayley Reardon   www.hayleyreardon.com

 


 

 

Forbes Plaza/Au Bon Pain - At the intersection of Dunster and Mass. Ave

 

2:00 pm - New School of Music   newschoolofmusic.org/


4:00 pm - Stefilia's Stone   www.StefiliasStone.com

 

5:00 pm - Grace + the RSO

 

6:00 pm - Max Garcia Conover   maxgarciaconover.com

 

7:00 pm - Miss Geo   www.missgeomusic.com

 

8:00 pm - Wake Up Paradise   www.facebook.com/WakeUpParadise

 

9:00 pm - The Dan Searl Group   www.dansearl.com

 


 

Legal Seafood’s Patio Stage - Charles Hotel lower courtyard, 1 Bennett Street

 

4:00 pm - Joe Young   www.joeyoungmusic.com

 

5:00 pm - Amy Kucharik   www.amykucharik.com/

                                                      
                                                                                         DSC_4850.jpg

 

 

 


Palmer Street Stage

 

2:00pm - Bedford Davis

 

4:00 pm - The New Englanders   thenewenglanders.com

 

5:00 pm - Miller's English   www.millersenglish.com

6:00 pm - Birds in Weather   www.birdsinweather.com/home.cfm


                                                                                       

 


The Pit Stage -  in front of the Out Of Town Kiosk

 

2:00 pm - Rob Carlson   www.reverbnation.com/robwcarlson

 

3:00 pm - Secret Sage   www.secretsage.org

 

4:00 pm - Damn Tall Buildings   https://www.facebook.com/DamnTallBuildings

 

5:00 pm - April Forest   www.facebook.com/Aprilforrestofficial

 

6:00 pm - Sam Reid & the Riot Act   www.reverbnation.com/samreidandtheriotact

 

7:00 pm - Billy Wine   billywinemusic.com

 

8:00 pm - Sultans of Sax   www.sultansofsax.net/

 

9:00 pm - b.FUNK   www.bfunkmusic.com/

 


 
 

Harvard Square Business Association
18 Brattle Street, Suite 352
Cambridge, Massachusetts 02138

Tel: (617) 491-3434
Fax: (617) 491-6976
Email: hsba@harvardsquare.com

Staff:
Denise Jillson, Executive Director
William Manley, Marketing and Events Manager
Natalie Damaso, Administration and Communications Manager

 

Copyright ©1996-2014. Harvard Square Business Association. All rights reserved.