The 7th Annual Make Music Harvard Square / Fete de la Musique

Saturday, June 21, 2014 (All day)
 
Come celebrate the Summer Solstice in Harvard Square with a French twist! Enjoy Rock and Roll, Funk and Folk, throw in some Jazz, Country, Hip Hop, a few Standards, add some Pop, R&B, Soul, Alternative, and Goth,  mix in a little Blue Grass, World, and Grunge, then get down and dance!  
 
The Harvard Square Business is gearing up to celebrate the summer solstice with the 7th Annual Make Music Harvard Square / Fête de la Musique.  On June 21st, the streets of Harvard Square become a free, live music festival featuring more than 70 musicians from across the USA playing on 12 different stages.  Festivities kick off at 2pm and come to a close at 10pm.
 
 
Make Music Harvard Square is inspired by the “Fête de la Musique” a street-music festival which was started 30 years ago in Paris. The “Fête de la Musique” is now celebrated, under many names, in more than 300 cities in 108 countries, from London to Beijing to Buenos Aires. Harvard Square is proud to be a part of this worldwide celebration! 
 
A complete schedule of local, regional and national talent follows. Highlights of the day will include a signature main stage in beautiful and historic Winthrop Park.  Make Music Harvard Square is sponsored by Zipcar, Big Skinny, Cirque du Soleil  and Mix 104.1FM
   
      
 
Also on June 21st - Kick off summer with the Harvard Museums of Science & Culture’s annual Summer Solstice celebration from 5-9 p.m. Enjoy a fun evening of telescope viewings, music, making flower crowns and many other hands-on activities for all ages at the Harvard Plaza, with free evening admission to four HMSC museums --the Harvard Museum of Natural History, the Harvard Semitic Museum, Collection of Historical Scientific Instruments, and the Peabody Museum of Archaeology & Ethnology (and even free parking!). You won’t want to miss this special summer night. More info on exhibitions at www.hmsc.harvard.edu or call 617-495-3045.

 

Winthrop Park  (corner of JFK and Mount Streets)

2pm       Hayley Reardon  www.hayleyreardon.com

3pm       New Inca Son  www.incason.com

4pm       Billy Deen and the Rebels  www.billydeenandtherebels.com

5pm       Mass Appeal  www.facebook.com/MassAppealBoston

6pm       The D-Line  thedline.bandcamp.com

7pm       Sasha Papernik  www.sashatheband.com/live/

8pm       Sultans of Sax  www.sultansofsax.net

9pm       The Dan Searl Group  www.dansearl.com

The Pit (By the Out of Town News Kiosk)

2pm       Keytar Bear

3pm       Mike Hastings Band  www.mikehastingsband.com

4pm       Miller’s English  www.millersenglish.com

5pm       A Cold Lonesome Nowhere  www.facebook.com/acoldlonesomenowhere

6pm       The New Englanders  www.thenewenglanders.com

7pm       PowerSlut  www.powerslut.bandcamp.com

8pm       Newfane

9pm       The People’s Party  www.facebook.com/ThePeoplesPartyMusic

Harvard Book Store (1256 Massachusetts Avenue)

2pm       Jess Labus  www.facebook.com/JessicaLabusMusic

3pm       Dugway  www.dugwayband.com

5pm       Nico Rivers  www.nicorivers.com

6pm       Walter Noons  www.reverbnation.com/walternoons

7pm       Don Hammontree  www.facebook.com/pages/Don-Hammontree/214069178617

8pm       Miriam Elhajli  www.facebook.com/pages/Miriam-Elhajli/300087990017811

9pm       Hadley Kennary  www.hadleykennary.com

Brattle Plaza (In front of Crema Café – 27 Brattle Street)

2pm       Ryan Jackson Troika  www.facebook.com/RyanJacksonTroika

3pm       The Life Electric  www.thelifeelectric.bandcamp.com/

4pm       Parlour Bells  www.parlourbells.com

5pm       The Nate Leavitt Band  www.nateleavittmusic.com/

6pm       The Rationales  www.therationales.com

7:15pm Oldjack  www.oldjackmusic.com 

9pm       Billy Wine

 

The Body Shop (1440 Massachusetts Avenue)

2pm       The Votices  www.facebook.com/TheVortices

3pm       Rob Carlson  www.reverbnation.com/robwcarlson

4pm       What is Broken  www.facebook.com/Whatisbroken

5pm       Post Modern Authors  www.postmodernauthors.com

6pm       Back Talk  www.facebook.com/backtalkma

7pm       The Inebriations  www.theinebriations.webs.com

8pm       Suitcase Acoustics  www.reverbnation.com/acousticsuitcase

9pm       Wake Up Paradise  www.facebook.com/WakeUpParadise

The Harvard COOP (1440 Massachusetts Avenue)

2pm       Marie Chabot  www.mariechabot.org

3pm       The Splinters  www.splintersmusic.com

4pm       The Splinters  www.splintersmusic.com

5pm       Walter Noons  www.reverbnation.com/walternoons

6pm       Don Hammontree  www.facebook.com/pages/Don-Hammontree/214069178617

7pm       Miriam Elhajli  www.facebook.com/pages/Miriam-Elhajli/300087990017811

8pm       Evan Miller  www.reverbnation.com/evanmiller7

9pm       Los Border Coyotes  www.reverbnation.com/losbordercoyotes

Finale Patio (30 Dunster Street)

2pm       New England Americana Festival Stage

Palmer Street

3pm       Trapped in Static  www.trappedinstatic.com/

6pm       Bridget Curzi  www.bridgetcurzi.com/

7pm       Sunshine Riot  www.sunshineriot.com

Dado Tea (50 Church Street)

2pm       Rich Eilbert  www.richeilbert.com/

3pm       John Ferullo  www.johnferullo.com/

4pm       Andrew O’Keefe www.facebook.com/AOmusic

5pm       Nikhil Thakkar  www.nikhilthakkar.wordpress.com/

6pm       Mei O’Hara  www.meiohara.com

7pm       Jon Gaines  www.linkedin.com/in/jongainesmusic

8pm       Cometa  www.cometamusic.com/

9pm       Notoriety  www.gainingnotoriety.com

Grafton Street Patio (1230 Massachusetts Avenue)

4pm       Dugway  www.dugwayband.com

5pm       Miriam Elhajli  www.facebook.com/pages/Miriam-Elhajli/300087990017811

6pm       Kate Diaz  www.katediazmusic.com

7pm       Hadley Kennary  www.hadleykennary.com/

8pm       Patrick Coman  www.patrickcoman.com

Legal Sea Foods Patio at the Charles Hotel (1 Bennett Street)

4pm       Trail Mix 

Charlie’s Kitchen (10 Eliot Street)

2pm       Amy Kucharik  www.amykucharik.com/

3pm       All Eyes on Me  www.facebook.com/Alleyesband

4pm       Fable Grazer  www.facebook.com/FableGrazer

5pm       Fort Point Ramblers  www.fortpointramblers.com

6pm       Amy Hoffman  www.theamyhoffman.tumblr.com/

9pm       Evan Miller  www.reverbnation.com/evanmiller7


 
 
Phone:
617-491-3434
Cost:
Free and open to the public